Rhode Island State Parks Camping Policy



Revision February 2025





Purpose

The purpose of this camping policy is to provide a consistent and standardized approach to the camping public as well as to assist employees in meeting the needs of the camping public in a friendly and efficient manner.

State campgrounds include five camping areas:

- Burlingame State Campground
- Charlestown Breachway Campground
- East Beach State Campground
- Fishermen's Memorial Campground
- George Washington State Campground

In addition to the policies and procedures listed below, each campground may contain rules and policies specific to the individual campground and its resources. Specific rules and policies pertaining to the individual campgrounds prior to reserving a campsite may be found at the end of this document.

The Department of Environmental Management, through its Division of Parks and Recreation management staff, reserves the right at any time to suspend, discontinue, or change camping policies and procedures as necessary.

Know Before You Go

FEES

CAMPING – DAILY RATE ¹	Resident	Non-Resident
Tier 3 - No Hookups / Per Site (Includes Charlestown Breachway)	\$18.00	\$36.00
Tier 2 - Electric, water and/or drive through trailer access / Per Site	\$24.00	\$45.00
Tier 1 - Campsites with waterfront views and/or electric, sewer, and water and/or drive through trailer access / Per Site	\$28.00	\$55.00
Primitive Cabins (No Water or Electric / Per Site)	\$50.00	\$75.00
OTHER FEES		
Visitors Pass / Per Vehicle /Per Day	\$8.00	
Second Car Pass / Per Vehicle/ Per Reservation	\$12.00	
Septic Dump Station/Per Vehicle	\$20.00	
Showers	As Metered	

¹ Does not include a reservation fee of \$8.75 for reservations made through the Reserve America website or call center. Reservation fees do not apply for walk-in reservations at our camping facilities.

- Rhode Island residency as it relates to rates is determined by:
 The Primary Occupant's valid government issued photo identification and the Reserve
 America customer's system profile resident address. Campers who have reserved as a
 resident and are unable to provide proof of residency will be charged the non-resident rate at
 check-in.
- The camping daily rate covers six (6) persons per campsite and one vehicle pass, which would include a drivable camping unit or a vehicle towing a camping unit.
- A second small camping tent for children or registered guests may be allowed depending on site size. However, total occupancy shall not exceed six (6) persons per site.
- A limit of two (2) visitor vehicle passes may be issued at any one time for each campsite.
- Each reservation includes one (1) septic dump and/or water tank fill per week. Campers who require additional septic dumps and/or a water tank fill will be required to pay a fee. Any non-campers are required to pay the per vehicle, per visit fee for a septic dump and/or water tank fill. A fee will be charged per visit regardless of the service required.

CANCELLATIONS, REFUNDS& CHANGES IN RESERVATIONS OR LENGTH OF STAY

For cancellations: refunds will be issued as follows:

- Eight (8) days or more before arrival date full refund less non-refundable reservation fee and an additional \$8.75 cancellation fee.
- Two (2) to seven (7) days before arrival date one-night penalty fee, non-refundable reservation fee and an \$8.75 cancellation fee.
- Less than two (2) days before arrival date no refund will be granted.

For changes in stay dates or the length of stay:

 An additional fee of \$8.75 will be charged to a reservation if a camper changes their reservation dates or a length of stay through the State's current online reservation system. A camper will be unable to make any changes to their reservation through this online reservation system beginning on midnight the day of their arrival and until they check-in at the campground.

How to cancel a reservation:

 Campers may cancel their reservation online by logging into their Reserve America account or by contacting the Reserve America Call Center during their operating hours.

Exclusions to refunds:

 Refunds will not be issued for weather, site conditions, no-shows, cancellations, or early departures on or after the arrival date.

Camping is an outdoor experience, and refunds will not be issued due to the discomforts of nature.

LENGTH OF STAY

For the purposes of this section:

- PEAK SEASON is defined as the Thursday before Memorial Day weekend in May through the Sunday of Labor Day weekend September of each year.
- OFF-PEAK SEASON is defined as Labor Day in September through the Wednesday before Memorial Day in May.

Minimum Stay

- During Peak Season, for reservations made prior to June 1-
 - The minimum number of nights that may be reserved before June 1 of each year is two
 (2) nights. A three (3) night minimum stay is required for Memorial Day, 4th of July (if it falls on a Friday or Monday) and Labor Day weekends.
- During Peak Season, for reservations made after June 1
 - Any campsite that has not been reserved by June 1 may be reserved for a one (1) night minimum stay.
- Off-Peak Season— A minimum stay of one (1) night is required.

Maximum Stay

• During Peak Season - A maximum stay of fourteen (14) nights total is allowed within any twenty-one (21) day period during the Peak Season. Campers who stay for fourteen (14) consecutive nights must leave the campground along with the camping unit and/or equipment for seven (7) consecutive nights before re-booking. This leave policy is mandatory.

<u>Exception</u>: A maximum stay of seven (7) nights total is allowed within any twenty-one (21) day period during the Peak Season at Charlestown Breachway State Campground and East Beach State Campground.

*Please note that this policy will be strictly enforced. If a member of a camping party attempts to violate the mandatory leave policy by making multiple reservations with a different Primary Occupant and utilizing the same camping unit and/or equipment, they will not be allowed to check into the reserved campsite, the reservation will be cancelled without refund.

• During Off-Peak Season - A maximum stay of twenty-one (21) nights within any twenty-eight (28) day period is allowed.

CHECK IN/CHECK OUT & SITE OCCUPANCY

Check In

Reserved campers can check in from 1:00 PM to 10:00 PM on the first day of their reservation. This includes all registered guests and those holding a second car pass. Reserved campers who need to check in after 10:00 PM should call the park directly for after-hour check-in procedures.

Check-Out

Check-out is 11:00 AM SHARP at all campgrounds! This policy is strictly enforced to allow campground staff enough time to prepare the site for the next customer. Failure to vacate the campsite on time may result in a citation and anything left on the site after 11:00 AM may be disposed of as abandoned property at the owner's expense.

Early Check-Out

- If a camper is permanently leaving the campground earlier than the departure day on their reservation, they <u>must</u> be sure to check out at the campground office. Failure to properly check-out, may result in the camper being held responsible for any misuse of or damage to the site. Proper check-out allows staff to verify site condition upon vacancy. A camping party is defined as the Primary Occupant and any person listed on the reservation including any vehicles and/or camping equipment used by the party.
- The Primary Occupant must be present to check-in and register for a campsite and must be eighteen (18) years of age or older. The Primary Occupant is responsible for compliance of the rules and regulations of the RI DEM and must:
 - Present valid government issued photo identification and valid vehicle and camper registration information.
 - List the first and last names of each member of the camping party. Only the names listed can occupy the campsite.
 - o If applicable, a current Rabies vaccination certificate is required for all pets and must be immediately available for inspection by campground staff or law enforcement. Pet owners not in compliance will be asked to leave the campground.
- It is important that a camper call the campground if they are going to be late arriving for their reservation.
 - Occupancy of the campsite is required on the first night of the reservation. A campsite
 unoccupied during this initial period is declared a "No Show" if the reserved camper
 has not arrived by 11:00 AM on the second day of the reservation. The reservation
 will be cancelled without refund. The site is then available to be sold on a first-come,
 first-served basis
- Subletting of campsites or cabins is strictly prohibited.

PETS

- Up to two (2) total of a Primary Occupant's dogs or cats are welcomed at Burlingame State Campground, Fishermen's Memorial State Campground and George Washington State Campground, if they are well socialized and friendly and have a current rabies vaccination.
- Pets are not permitted at Charlestown Breachway or East Beach Campgrounds, or at any RI state beach. (Does not apply to Service Animals. See Accessibility section below).
- A maximum of two (2) pets (dogs or cats) per campsite are allowed.
- Pets must be on a leash, no more than 6 feet in length, at all times. E-collars, E-leashes or other similar devices will not be considered as "leashed" per this policy.
- All pets must be collared with owner contact information listed and legible.
- Pets may not create a disturbance or nuisance. Excessive barking is considered a disturbance and a violation of policy.
- Pets may not be left unattended in RV's, tents, on campground sites, or in any vehicle.
- Pet owners are responsible for cleaning up after their pet(s). Pet owners who are not in compliance will be asked to leave the campground and will not receive a refund.
- A current Rabies Vaccination Certificate is required for all pets and must be immediately

- available for inspection by campground staff or law enforcement.
- Visitors or guests may not bring pets into the campground.
- Certain campgrounds have pet restrictions. Please refer to the section "Campground Descriptions and Specific Requirements".

Additional Camping and Campground Policies (in alphabetical order)

AGE LIMITATIONS

- Must be eighteen (18) years of age or older to rent a campsite.
- No person under the age of eighteen (18) will be permitted to camp unless accompanied and supervised by a person 18 years of age or older.

ALCOHOL, SMOKING, MARIJUANA PRODUCTS, AND TOBACCO PRODUCTS

- No person shall possess, drink, sell or offer for sale any alcoholic beverages in campgrounds operated by the State of RI.
- The use of recreational marijuana is strictly prohibited.
 - Exception: The use of edible or topical products utilized by an individual who
 possesses a current medical marijuana card and is utilizing the product as prescribed
 by a licensed physician and in accordance with all State Laws and regulations.
- The smoking or vaping of any tobacco products is prohibited within a designated campground with the exception of the confines of an individual's permitted site or any areas that are not communal such as playgrounds, beaches, boat ramps, nature centers, sports or recreation fields, or within twenty-five feet (25 feet) of any building.

ACCESSIBILITY

- The Division of Parks and Recreation is committed to creating recreational opportunities that accommodate people with disabilities. Parks has been working toward achieving accessibility for many years. However, most campgrounds within the Park system were constructed decades ago and predate the American Disabilities Act (ADA) that was signed into law on January 1, 1990. Other structures built to meet the 1990 ADA code may no longer comply with today's ADA rules. DEM is continually working to increase accessibility and further its compliance as it develops new or renovates facilities. Requests or inquiries regarding access may be made to the campground manager.
- Service Animals Service animals, as defined by the ADA, are allowed at all Rhode Island camping facilities when accompanied by an individual with a disability.
 - ADA defines a service animal as a dog that has been individually trained to do work or perform tasks for an individual with a disability. The task(s) performed by the dog must be directly related to the person's disability.
 - Please note: The ADA does not recognize emotional support, therapy, comfort or companion animals as service animals and neither does the Division of Parks and Recreation. Please refer to the Pets section of this policy for more information.

- In campgrounds where pets are prohibited, campers with service animals may be asked if the service animal is required because of a disability, and/or what task the dog has been trained to perform according to ADA compliance requirements.
- Service animals must be under the care and control of their handler at all times and should be harnessed, leashed, or tethered unless such devices interfere with the service animal's work, or if the visitor's disability prevents the use of these devices. In that case, the visitor must maintain control of the animal through voice, signal or other effective controls.
- The handler is responsible for caring for and supervising the service animal, including toileting, cleaning up after the animal, and feeding.
- For health and safety reasons no service animals will be allowed in public swimming areas.

BICYCLES, OPERATOR-PROPELLED DEVICES, ELECTRIC OR GAS PROPELLED VEHICLES AND DEVICES

- All electrically or gas propelled devices including Low-Speed Vehicles and Golf Carts, other than legally street registered automobiles, are prohibited within a campground with the following exceptions:
 - Devices utilized to assist handicapped or disabled persons.
 - Electronic or gas-powered bicycles operating on roadways within the campground and following all state laws and regulations with regards to operation. These devices are explicitly prohibited from trails, sidewalks, paths, fields or playgrounds.
 - Skateboards, inline skates, operator propelled scooters, or similar devices may be prohibited or restricted by the State Park District Manager when conditions deem the operation unsafe. Campers should confirm with Park staff the operation and devices that have been authorized.
- Helmets are required on children aged 15 and younger who are operating or passengers on bicycles or using or operating skateboards, roller skates, scooters or inline skates as required by state law.

CABINS

- Cabins are located at Burlingame State Campground & George Washington Campground. The cabins are rustic and include two (2) bunk beds with boards for the base.
- Mattresses and bedding are not provided. Air mattresses are strongly recommended.
- Cabins can only accommodate up to four (4) persons.
- Cabins sites are limited to a maximum of six (6) persons and the number of vehicles listed on the site description, no exceptions.
- One (1) tent per cabin is allowed. No RV's, campers, trailers or pop-ups are allowed on the cabin sites.
- Pets are allowed in cabins.

CAMPSITES

• The maximum camper, RV, or trailer length that a campsite can accommodate is shown on the Reserve America website. Campers, RV's, or trailers may not exceed the specified length. Campsites with a maximum vehicle length of 0' in the site description are for tent camping

only.

- Number of tents allowed on a tent campsite varies from campground to campground and can be found in the specific site description on the Reserve America website.
- Only one camper, RV, or Trailer is allowed per site.

EMERGENCY CLOSURE

- In the event RI State Parks must close a park or campground (due to a named storm or other emergency) the affected campers will be given a refund of the unused portion of their reservation.
- If the campground remains open and the camper elects to leave, the action will be treated as an Early Departure and no refund will be given.
- Closure of part or all of East Beach Campground may occur during the camping season due to the nesting of a tiny shorebird called the Piping Plover. The Piping Plover is listed as a threatened species under the Federal Endangered Species Act. If a closure should occur, reservations will be cancelled and refunded in full.
- During certain emergency situations such as missing person, entrance gates may be secured, and no entry or exit will occur during this time.

FIRES AND FIREWOOD

- Fires, including charcoal fires, are only allowed in designated areas or with written permission.
- Fires are restricted to the fire ring or grill provide on the site.
- No fires will be started or maintained unless under the constant supervision of a responsible person. All exterior fires must be fully extinguished by the campsite or cabin occupant prior to departure.
- Fires must be kept at a reasonable and safe height and size at all times. Actively burning wood must not exceed eighteen (18) inches in height to prevent fuel rollout.
- *Please do not bring firewood from out of state. If you are planning to camp during an
 upcoming trip to RI, please help protect our public lands by buying local firewood near your
 destination campground. Firewood from out of state can spread harmful insect pests and
 diseases.
- Burning of trash, pallets, or any objects other than firewood is prohibited.
- Certain campgrounds have fire restrictions. Please refer to the section "Campground Descriptions and Specific Requirements."
- In the instance of a fire ban, no fires of any kind will be permitted unless specific devices such as portable cooking stoves, portable fire bits, gas lanterns, have been authorized under the ban.

FIREARMS AND OTHER WEAPONS

The possession or use of weapons, including firearms, bow and arrow, and other weapons, is prohibited in campgrounds operated by the State of RI.

FIRFWORKS

The possession or use of all classes of fireworks is prohibited in campgrounds operated by the State of RI.

GENERATOR USE

Generators can be excessively loud and / or may omit fumes that can be obnoxious to other campers. Therefore:

- Generator use is permitted between the hours of 8:00 AM and 8:00 PM only.
- Generator quiet hours are between the hours of 8:00 PM and 8:00 AM (no exceptions).
- Generators cannot be situated under the window of the camping unit in the neighboring campsite. Generator exhaust cannot be pointed in the direction of neighboring campsite.
- Commercial grade or diesel generators are not allowed.
- If the use of a generator is deemed unreasonably loud by the facility staff, an individual's use of the generator may be limited and/or prohibited.
- Medical devices such as breathing machines must be battery operated.

GREY WATER

The discharge of grey or black water in the environment has been found to be a significant risk to public health. Release of grey or black water is prohibited, except at designated dump stations.

GROUP CAMPING

- Large clubs, organizations, scout troops, etc. may be accommodated at some campgrounds under appropriate special conditions. Please call the campground directly for reservations and information.
- Any group bringing youths under the age of eighteen (18) into any campground or management area must provide adequate adult supervision for these youths and their activities. Adequate adult supervision is defined as no less than one (1) adult for every ten (10) children.

LOITERING

Loitering is prohibited in and around restrooms.

PROTECTION OF STATE PROPERTY

- Campers / visitors will not deface, remove, destroy, or injure any living tree, flower, shrub, fern or other plant, rock, fossil or mineral found or growing on state lands. Wildlife and their nests will not be disturbed or fed.
- Campers / visitors will not deface, damage or destroy any structure or property of the campground including, but not limited to, picnic table, grill, drinking fountain, fence, stone wall, monument or artifact.
- Any person found to be in violation of these rules will be immediately removed from the campground and a penalty may be assessed. A refund will not be issued.
- Campers and their guests will be held financially responsible for any damage to state property and may be subject to legal action.

QUIET HOURS

Quiet hours will be maintained in and around all areas used for camping between the hours of 10:00 PM - 7:00 AM.

RESERVATIONS

- The minimum online reservation window is same day by 12:00 PM.
- Customers that wish to reserve a campsite on the day of arrival after 12:00 PM must reserve the campsite directly at the campground on a first come, first serve basis.
- A maximum of three (3) campsite reservations, with the same dates and the same customer name, may be made at one time. However, there must be a different Primary Occupant listed for each reservation.
- All reservation policies and restrictions apply to Internet customers. Prior to finishing a reservation transaction, the Internet customer is asked to "agree" to all the terms given. Refunds are not available for misunderstanding of terms.

SANITATION

- Campsites and cabins must be kept in neat, clean and sanitary conditions. Campers are not permitted to wash dishes, clothes or their own person at water fountains or spigots.
- Vehicles must discharge waste and wastewater only into the campground's designated disposal stations.
- Campers must adhere to specific campgrounds recycling policies and procedures. Dumpsters
 and recycling containers are provided in all campgrounds. There is no campsite pick-up or
 curbside service.
- Campers who visit nearby Rhode Island state parks and beaches will be required follow the Carry-In/Carry-Out program and take the trash they bring into the park or beach out with them when they leave. Please plan accordingly.

VEHICLE PASSES & REGISTRATION

- All motor vehicles must be legally street registered, insured as required by state law and operated by a licensed driver.
- A valid vehicle registration may be required prior to checking into any campsite. Customers
 who present an invalid or expired vehicle registration will not be allowed to check into their
 campsite and will not be eligible for a refund.
- Vehicle passes are assigned to a specific vehicle and are not transferable. All sites are limited to two (2) **non-transferable** vehicle passes. If a vehicle must be changed, then a previously issued vehicle pass must be surrendered, and that vehicle removed from the campground.
- The daily rate for a campsite includes one vehicle pass, which would include a drivable camping unit or the vehicle towing the camping unit. The 2nd vehicle pass will be at an additional fee.
- This section in its entirety applies to motorcycles, motor scooters, and any vehicle that requires registration regardless of if these vehicles were towed into the campground.

VISITORS

- A limit of two (2) visitor vehicle passes may be issued at any one time for each campsite.
 Campground managers reserve the right stop or limit campground visitors if campground or visitor parking facilities reach capacity or interfere with the safety and enjoyment of reserved campers.
- Visitors must register and obtain a vehicle pass at the campground office.
- All visitors must vacate the campground by 10:00 PM.
- Visitors must park in visitor parking areas as designated by the campground staff.
- Visitors are not allowed to bring pets into the campground.
- The Primary Occupant to whom the camping permit is granted shall be responsible for compliance of rules and regulations for his or her visitors.

VIOLATIONS AND PENALTIES

- Customers that misrepresent name, address, number of occupants or any other information in order to circumvent reservation policies will not be accommodated upon arrival at the campground.
- Violation of any rule and/or regulation is grounds for revocation of the camping permit and
 eviction from the campground. If a permit is revoked, no refund will be issued. Any person or
 persons voided on a camping permit are not allowed to reenter any camping area for the
 duration of the camping season.
- Any person found to have violated any rule and/or regulation will be subject to a fine not to exceed \$100.00 for each violation.

CAMPING AREA DESCRIPTIONS AND SPECIFIC REQUIREMENTS

BURLINGAME STATE CAMPGROUND

Located next to Watchaug Pond in Charlestown, this spacious campground includes approximately 700 campsites, as well as 20 cabins. Utilities ARE NOT available at this campground. The campground features conveniently located restrooms with shower facilities, a playground, arcade, freshwater beach, boat ramp, canoe rentals, and hiking trails. The camp store carries a wide variety of camping necessities, along with a large selection of souvenirs. The campground abuts the Burlingame Management Area and Kimball Wildlife Sanctuary and is located near numerous ocean beaches, including Misquamicut State Beach, Charlestown Breachway and East Matunuck State Beach.

- No check-ins prior to 1PM. This also applies to any camper who has pre-checked. This is needed for staff to ensure sites are clean and prepared for incoming reservations.
- No check-ins after 10PM. This is strictly enforced in order to ensure that quiet hours are respected, and other campers are not disturbed.
- Septic Dump Station Passes are available for a fee to non-registered campers to utilize both the dump and water filling stations.
- Main Camp is restricted to tent camping only.

CHARLESTOWN BREACHWAY STATE CAMPGROUND

Located on the east side of the "Breachway" is a camping area with panoramic views of Block Island Sound and within walking distance to Charlestown State Beach. This campground is also located within an environmentally sensitive area which requires stricter regulations. The Breachway also has a boat launch with limited parking. Utilities ARE NOT available at this campground.

- All camping units MUST BE self-contained. A self-contained unit is defined as "A camping unit which contains manufacturer installed, permanent holding tanks for potable water, grey water and black water which ensures that no grey or black water can be leaked or dumped whether intentionally or unintentionally". Any aftermarket installations may require additional documentation prior to camping at this facility. Such documentation should be from the aftermarket installer certifying that the system meets these requirements. If you are unable to confirm that your camper and sanitation system has met this requirement or are otherwise unable to obtain documentation confirming this requirement, it is recommended that you make reservations at one of our other Rhode Island State Campgrounds. If a camping unit has been found to be in violation of these requirements while staying at the campground, the camping permit will be terminated without refund.
- Only one (1) additional towed or non-towed vehicle can park in the camping area per site. A second car vehicle pass is required.
- Camping units such as a Pop-up, Hybrid or Conversion Camper with any type of canvas top will not be allowed in the day use area or the camping area.
- Registered campers after having checked in Charlestown Breachway will be allowed to utilize
 the Septic Dump and Water Filling Stations at Burlingame State Campground and/or
 Fishermen's Memorial State Campground, one time at no charge. Additional dumping or use
 of the water filling station will be subject to the Septic Dump Station/Per Vehicle/NonCamper fee.
- Campers must show proof of active and valid reservation.
- Open fires are not allowed (wood or charcoal). Propane camp stoves with regulators are permitted.
- Pets are **not** allowed.
- Visitors to the camping area are required to pay the daily beach parking fee and park in the day use parking lot.
- The Generator Use Policy will be strictly enforced. No loud or commercial generators are allowed.

EAST BEACH STATE CAMPGROUND

Specialty camping on three (3) miles of undeveloped beach frontage is available at East Beach State Campground, located in Charlestown, Rhode Island. East Beach is one of the least developed of the Rhode Island state beaches. This barrier beach and 10 site campground location offers four Clivus Multrum Composting Toilets for restrooms along with 3 miles of undeveloped beach frontage. Parking is very limited and fills up early on sunny summer days. A small portion of the beach is staffed with lifeguards on a seasonal basis. Utilities ARE NOT available at this campground. Special Camping/Vehicle Equipment requirements are required for camping at this location.

• All camping units MUST BE self-contained. A self-contained unit is defined as "A camping unit which contains manufacturer installed, permanent holding tanks for potable water, grey

water and black water which ensures that no grey or black water can be leaked or dumped whether intentionally or unintentionally". Any aftermarket installations may require additional documentation prior to camping at this facility. Such documentation should be from the aftermarket installer certifying that the system meets these requirements. If you are unable to confirm that your camper and sanitation system has met this requirement or are otherwise unable to obtain documentation confirming this requirement, it is recommended that you make reservations at one of our other Rhode Island State Campgrounds. If a camping unit has been found to be in violation of these requirements while staying at the campground, the camping permit will be terminated without refund

- Tow trailers or Fifth Wheels are not allowed.
- All campers MUST obtain a Beach Vehicle Permit prior to their stay. The permit is required for driving on any RI State Barrier Beach or access road.
- Beach Vehicle Permits can be purchased online at Rhode Island Coastal Resources Management Council (CRMC), http://www.crmc.ri.gov/.
- A beach parking fee will also be required for any vehicle using the East Beach Sand Trail during the summer beach season unless registered for a campsite.
- Closure of part or all of East Beach Campground may occur during the camping season due to the nesting of a tiny shorebird called the Piping Plover. The Piping Plover is listed as a threatened species under the Federal Endangered Species Act. If a closure should occur, reservations will be cancelled and refunded in full.
- Registered campers after having checked in to East Beach Campground will be allowed to
 utilize the Septic Dump Station and Water Filling Station at Burlingame State Campground
 and/or Fishermen's Memorial State Campground, one time at no charge. Additional dumping
 or use of the water filling station will be subject to the Septic Dump Station Pass Fee.
- Must show proof of active and valid reservation.
- Tent camping is not allowed.
- Pets are **not** allowed.
- Open fires and outdoor grills or camp stoves of any kind are not permitted. Any cooking must be contained inside the camping unit.

FISHERMEN'S MEMORIAL STATE CAMPGROUND

Fishermen's Memorial Campground, in Narragansett, is in close proximity to Roger Wheeler State Beach, Salty Brine State Beach and Scarborough State Beach. The campground includes 147 trailer sites, 35 tent sites, basketball, tennis and horseshoe courts and a children's playground. The campground is also approximately one mile from the Block Island Ferry Dock and 30 minutes from scenic Newport.

- Area 1 and Area 2 Electric, Sewer and Water is available.
 - Area 1 is RV Only
 - o Area 2 is Tent or RV
- Area 3 No utilities available.
 - Tents and Canvas Pop-Ups only.
- Area 4 Electric and Water is available.
 - o Tent or RV

- The electrical service in Area 4 is not adequate for RV air conditioning units during extreme heat and use may be restricted during Peak use times. This rule also applies to heaters during the cooler months.
- Septic Dump Station is available at no charge for registered campers.
- Non-registered campers will be charged a fee to use the Septic Dump Station or for use of the water filling station per Vehicle and per use.

GEORGE WASHINGTON STATE CAMPGROUND

Located within the 4,000-acre George Washington Management Area and on the shores of Bowdish Reservoir, the 100-acre George Washington Memorial Camping Area is an overnight, primitive camping facility with a combination of 74 well-spaced gravel sites suitable for trailers and RV's along with hike-in tent sites, 2 sites for group camping, and 4 cabins offering a multitude of opportunities to enjoy the outdoors. Utilities are NOT available at this campground.

- No check-ins prior to 1PM. This also applies to any camper who has pre-checked. This is needed for staff to ensure sites are clean and prepared for incoming reservations.
- Septic Dump Station is available at no charge for registered campers. Due to capacity limits, non-campers are not allowed to use the Septic Dump Station.
- Bathrooms consist of porta potty or flush toilets located in the shower facilities.
- Sites are limited to either two (2) tents and two (2) vehicles per site or one (1) Camper, RV or Trailer, one (1) tent and one (1) vehicle that will be in addition to the vehicle used to tow the camping unit or the drivable camping unit itself.
- Angell Loop sites A1 A7 are hike in only with no vehicle access to the campsites.
 - Hike in is approximately .4 mile along a trail that does become rocky and uphill in sections.
 - o Campers will be expected to carry in all of their gear and equipment.
 - Drinking water is not available at these sites. The closest available water is near Site
 30 in the main campground.
- Hill Sites T1 T5 are hike in only with no vehicle access to the campsites.
 - Vehicle parking is located close to the campsites.
 - o Campers will be expected to carry in all of their gear and equipment.
 - Drinking water is available nearby.
- Group Camping Locations
 - There are two (2) cabin style shelters available for group camping.
 - Limited to twenty (20) persons per group camping location.
 - Limited to up to twenty (20) vehicles per group camping location.