State Lifeguard Certifications Photo: S. Petrarca Individuals interested in working as a lifeguard in the State of Rhode Island must become certified by the Rhode Island State Parks as either a Surf or Non-Surf lifeguard to work at a waterfront facility. Rhode Island State Parks no longer tests for Pool Lifeguard State Certification. If a Lifeguard Candidate working at a swimming pool facility is required by the facility operator to have Pool Lifeguard State Certification, please refer to that process below, “Pool Lifeguard State Certification.” Surf Certified: Lifeguards can work at any type of swimming facility in the state. Non-Surf Certified: Lifeguards can work at non-surf (freshwater or bayside) beaches and pools. Requirements to Apply for State Lifeguard Certification: All candidates must be at least 15 years of age and must present a photo I.D. with verification of date of birth every time they apply for certification. Applicants under the age of 18 MUST be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian who must sign the Lifeguard Certification Form for the minor applying to take the state lifeguard certification test. If they are unable to attend the test, the parent or legal guardian can sign the form in advance IF the signature is notarized. All candidates must have successfully completed courses and hold valid and current cards in Lifeguard Training, First Aid, and CPR which includes infant, child and adult. All of which should not to be due to expire within 30 days of taking a state lifeguard certification test. They will not be certified until they have renewed and replaced the expiring card or certificates. No photocopies, altered, defaced or damaged cards will be honored. No letters from instructors, rosters or other documents will be accepted in lieu of original training cards or certificates from accredited organizations. Electronic certificates and cards will be accepted as long as they can be verified. All candidates must present a completed State Certification Form to testing personnel at the time of the test. This form can be found on the State Lifeguard Certification Portal. Candidates opting to perform their endurance swim prior to their testing date must present the completed Endurance Swim Form to testing personnel at the time of test. This form can be found on the State Lifeguard Certification Portal. Candidates should contact RI State Parks Headquarters with any questions regarding accepted training and/or their training cards and certificates well in advance of scheduled test dates. All candidates will be required to register for a specific testing time via the State Lifeguard Certification Portal. Walk-ins will be allowed as the testing schedule dictates. There is a $10 fee for the State Lifeguard Certification Card due at the time of successful completion of the test. Cash, check or credit cards are accepted. CPR, First Aid, and Lifeguard Training: Lifeguard Training, First Aid, and CPR courses are offered throughout the year by accredited organizations. Candidates should check with the accredited agencies for dates and times for these courses and all courses must be completed prior to the start of the State Certification Tests. The following nationally accredited organizations offer CPR, First Aid and Lifeguard Training courses that will be accepted: American Red Cross YMCA American Heart Association National Safety Council Health & Safety Institute A valid and current EMT license will be honored for the CPR and First Aid requirements, but candidates must still obtain a separate card verifying completion of Lifeguard Training. Surf and Non-Surf State Lifeguard Certification Testing The testing consists of a series of mock rescues and an endurance swim. FOR SURF MOCK RESCUES: Torp & Reel Save with 3-person team: The victim will swim 25 yards out. The 1st lifeguard must swim using a rescue stroke to the victim with the torp and secure the conscious victim as instructed at test. The 2nd lifeguard proceeds with the rescue line to the 1st lifeguard and victim and clips the line to the torp to assist. The 3rd lifeguard must work the line and reel from the shoreline, ensuring the line does not tangle, and the victim is then pulled to shore. Board Rescue: The victim will swim 100 yards out. The lifeguard must paddle out with the rescue board to the victim. The lifeguard must flip the board keeping the board between lifeguard and victim. The lifeguard must then properly flip the board again to secure victim on the board and paddle the victim back to shore. FOR NON-SURF MOCK RESCUES: Torp or Rescue Tube Save: The victim will swim 25 yards out. The lifeguard must swim using a rescue stroke to the victim with the torp or rescue tube and secure the conscious victim accordingly. The lifeguard must then bring the victim to shore. The Board Rescue: The victim will swim 100 yards out. The lifeguard must paddle out with the rescue board to the victim. The lifeguard must flip the board keeping the board between lifeguard and victim. The lifeguard must then properly flip the board again to secure victim on the board and paddle the victim back to shore. FOR ENDURANCE SWIM The allowable endurance swim distance will be 400 METERS or 440 YARDS (450 yards for pool only). The endurance swim must be completed in under ten (10) minutes or less and with only a forward-facing swim stroke. An endurance swim may be performed in a pool, in any state in which an individual resides or attends school, and will satisfy the requirement for lifeguard certification if: An individual, without stopping, resting on the pool wall or standing in the shallow end, and while using the forward-facing swim stroke (Breaststroke or Freestyle) can swim the distance of 450 yards in ten (10) minutes or less; and The endurance swim is performed between March 1st and the date the individual attends the Rhode Island State Certification Test; and The endurance swim is performed in the presence of an Approved Aquatics Examiner (see below); and The Proof of Endurance Swim Form is completed in full by both the individual and the Approved Aquatics Examiner and presented at the time of the individual’s State Certification Test. If you do not complete the endurance swim prior to the State Lifeguard Certification Test or if you fail to provide a properly executed Proof of Endurance Swim Form, you will be required to perform the endurance swim on the State Lifeguard Certification Test date. Wetsuits are allowed. For questions regarding this form, the lifeguard certification process, or Approved Aquatics Examiners, please contact Rhode Island State Parks at 401-667-6200 or DEM.RIparks@dem.ri.gov. Examples of Approved Aquatics Examiners Designated Rhode Island State Park Staff Certified Lifeguard Instructors or Supervisors Athletic Coaches Recreation and Athletic Directors Pool Facility Managers Beach Managers List of Pools Offering Endurance Swim This list is subject to change. Contact the facility directly to confirm. CCRI - Flanagan Campus 1762 Old Louisquisset Pike, Lincoln, RI 02865 Facility Contact: Kevin Salisbury, Email City of Warwick – McDermott Pool 975 Sandy Lane, Warwick (401) 738-2019 Facility Contact: Greg Hindle firstname.lastname@example.org Pods Swimming 111 Commercial Way, East Providence, RI 02914 Facility Contact: Susan Pascale-Frechette, Email Roger Williams University 1 Old Ferry Road, Bristol, RI 02809 Facility Contact: Matt Emmert, (401) 580-7313 State Lifeguard Certification Test Dates Surf State Lifeguard Certification Testing Dates Held at Scarborough North State Beach, Narragansett All 2023 Test Dates May 16: Surf Testing May 17: Surf Testing May 20: Surf Testing May 24: Surf Testing May 30: Surf Testing June 1: Surf Testing June 6: Surf Testing June 8: Surf Testing June 14: Surf Testing June 24: Surf Testing NEW: July 11: Surf Testing Non-Surf State Lifeguard Certification Testing Dates Held at Burlingame State Park Picnic Area, Charlestown All 2023 Test Dates May 23: Non-Surf Testing May 25: Non-Surf Testing June 3: Non-Surf Testing June 7: Non-Surf Testing June 15: Non-Surf Testing Register for Testing (Surf and Non-Surf) Pool Lifeguard State Certification If a Lifeguard Candidate will be working at a swimming pool facility, and State Certification is required by the facility operator, the Lifeguard Candidate can simply apply through RI State Parks Headquarters. The State Lifeguard Certification Test (Mock Rescues & Endurance Swim) is not required for this type of certification. Please email email@example.com to make an appointment. Note: Pool Lifeguard Candidates for State Certification must show a photo I.D., verification of their date of birth, and valid and current cards in Lifeguard Training, First Aid, and CPR which includes infant, child and adult. The cost is $10.00 cash and/or check only. If their credentials are in order, they will be issued a Pool Lifeguard Certification Card. If you have any questions, please contact Rhode Island State Parks Headquarters by calling 401-667-6200 or emailing DEM.RIparks@dem.ri.gov.